Relocation Information - Motor Vehicle Information
How To Register Your Motor Vehicle
You will need to obtain the necessary forms to get your Pennsylvania vehicle registration. Messenger services are conveniently located throughout the Commonwealth. If you use a messenger service, you will be charged a service fee, which is over and above the fees you will be charged for the products you are purchasing. You can also get the forms at automobile clubs, notary services or auto dealerships. In order to register your vehicle(s), you will need to bring the following with you:
Valid title for all vehicles you are registering in Pennsylvania, issued in your name, from the state you left
Proof of Pennsylvania insurance (One of the following)
Valid insurance identification card
Copy of a valid binder
Copy of an application for insurance to the Pennsylvania assigned Risk Plan for all of the vehicles you
will be registering
Documents must indicate both effective and expiration dates.
Form of personal identification
A tracing of vehicle identification number (VIN) or verification of the VIN by an inspection mechanic or notary at a dealership
Title fee: $22.50 (Additional $5.00 if there is an unpaid loan on your vehicle)
Registration fee: $36.00 for passenger vehicles $58.50 for trucks (based on truck weight)
When you pay the annual registration fee, you will be issued a Pennsylvania registration plate, registration card and sticker.
Vehicle Safety Inspection
Newly registered vehicles in Pennsylvania must be safety inspected within ten (10) days of the registration date.
Inspections are preformed at official inspection stations (usually a repair garage or a service station with a repair shop.)
Equipment checks include:
lights, brakes, horn, tires, safety belts, exhaust system, mirrors, tag mounting, suspension, turn signals, steering, glazing, wipers, and other major parts of your vehicle. Inspection fees are posted at official inspection stations. These fees do not include repairs to correct vehicle defects.
Emission Inspection Maintenance
Pennsylvania is one of many states required by the Federal Environmental Protection Agency to have a vehicle emissions inspection & maintenance (I/M) program. The I/M is a key part of the Commonwealth's strategy to improve its air quality.
Visit the Drive Clean PA Website or call the customer hotline at 1-800-265-0921 to find out if the county your vehicle is registered in is required to participate in the emissions inspection program.
To Obtain Your PA Driver's License
New residents must obtain a Pennsylvania driver's license within 60 days of establishing a permanent residence in Pennsylvania.
To apply, you must appear in person at one of our Driver License Centers.
Complete the necessary forms (provided at the Driver's License Center) with the correct classification( s) and endorsement(s).
Take a vision screening test
Bring your valid driver's license from your prior state or a recently expired (six  months or less) but otherwise valid license.
Social security card (if your number is not on your license)
Check or money order for the cost of your PA Drivers License
If your out-of-state driver's license has been expired for more than six (6) months, you will be required to:
Apply for a Pennsylvania Learner's Permit
Complete all applicable knowledge and skills tests in order to obtain a Pennsylvania Driver's License.
When you are issued a Pennsylvania Drivers License, you will be required to surrender your out-of state driver's license
If you don't have a valid or expired photo license, Bring your birth certificate and social security card
Other acceptable forms of identification and information regarding how to obtain an initial license are addressed in the Pennsylvania Driver's Manual and the Commercial Driver's Manual.
Copies of the Pennsylvania Driver's Manual are available at Driver License Centers, most messenger services, notaries and auto clubs.
If you have an out-of-state license and you are under 18, you will need to meet additional requirements or provide additional documentation before you can receive a Pennsylvania Driver's License.
Voter Registration and Organ Donor
When you visit a Photo License Center to have your photo license processed, you will be given the opportunity to make application to register to vote and the option to be listed as an organ donor.
If you say "yes" to organ donation, the words "ORGAN DONOR" will appear on your PA Driver's License and/or ID card.
If you make application to register to vote, you will be asked to answer a series of questions. You will be given a receipt as proof of your application for voter registration. The registration office of the county of your residence will send you an official voter identification card. If you do not receive your card within two weeks, you should contact your county voter registration office.
If you need other information, please call one of the telephone numbers listed below:
PennDOT's Customer Care Center
1-800-932-4600 or 1-717-391-6190 (for out of state calls)
1-800-228-0676 (for people using TDD equipment)
1-717-391-6191 (for out of state calls using TDD equipment)